Kevin Rohling, Chairman

Kevin has worked in natural resource conservation since 2004 and currently works as a Forestry Research Technician with University of Illinois Extension Forestry. He earned B.S. and M.S. degrees in Geography from SIU-E, specializing in Biogeography and GIS. He conducts research and Extension activities focused on invasive species issues, prescribed fire, use of technology in forestry, wildlife monitoring, chainsaw safety, natural areas management, and outreach and interpretation. Kevin’s previous work experience includes positions with the River to River CWMA, Natural Land Institute, The Nature Conservancy, Great Basin Institute, Illinois EPA, Great Rivers Land Trust, and National Park Service.

Julie Peterson, Treasurer 

Julie serves as a District 5 board member for Jackson County, Illinois. She has also worked with the Jackson County League of Women Voters, the Greater Egypt Regional Planning and and Develpment Commission, and the Southern Illinois Metropolitan Planning Organization. In addition to her service for Jackson County, Julie is also currently serving as Secretary/Treasurer for the Shawnee Resource Conservation & Development Area, Inc.  

Chris Evans, Vice-Chair

Chris Evans is an Extension Forestry and Research Specialist for the University of Illinois. He also serves as the Interim State Coordinator for the Master Naturalist Program. Chris has over 20 years of experience in natural resource management and forestry. Chris currently serves as the Vice-Chair for the Shawnee Resource Conservation & Development Area, President of the southern chapter of the Illinois Native Plant Society, and board member for both the North American Invasive Species Management Association and Midwest Invasive Plant Network.

Raymond Bieri III, Executive Director


Cathy Poshard, Program Manager

Dale Shumaker, Executive Committee

Rudy Rice, Executive Committee

Shawnee Resource Conservation and Development, Inc
941 State Highway 146W
Golconda, IL  62938-4212
Phone: 618.944.1736